Skip to content

Banksy in New Orleans | Street Art Photography

February 5, 2011

Banksy – a graffiti artist from England focusses on political and social themes with his stencil graffiti street art. With his work, he criticizes greed , poverty, hypocrisy and alike.  Until today, Banksy has managed to successfully hide his real identity – yet his work is known worldwide and some of his art has been auctioned of for tremendous amounts of money. However, he personally does not sell any of his art of photographs of it. In 2010 his first film “Exit Through the Gift Shop” made it’s debut at the Sundance Film Festival and it was nominated for the Academy Award for Best Documentary for the film.

His art can be found in Bristol, London, New York, San Francisco and New Orleans –  and more.

 

So during our trip to New Orleans, my husband and I did a Banksy Graffiti hunt – trying to find his graffiti art from August 2008. Banksy came to New Orleans for the third anniversary of hurricane Katrina – and left a series of graffiti on mostly abandoned buildings. Some of his art pieces were since destroyed or altered – but we some are still intact. The city of New Orleans recently decided to protect some of his art by placing a sheet of plexiglass over the graffitis. Banksy’s New Orleans graffitis focus on three themes: hurricane Kartina, the grey ghost and political issues.

 

So here we go: Photographs of Banksy’s graffitis in New Orleans:

Photo 1: Umbrella Girl by Banksy – it’s raining grey paint. This is a graffiti in the battle with the grey ghost.

Banksy wrote: “I came to New Orleans to do battle with the Gray Ghost.”

Umbrella girl / Banksy New Orleans photography

Photo 2: This graffiti relates to hurricane Katrina.

Quote from Banksy: “Three years after Katrina I wanted to highlight the state of the clean up operation”

Banksy New Orleans / street art photography

Photo 3: Another Bansky graffiti targeting the grey ghost

Banksy Nola / street art photography

Photo 4: Banksy’s battle with the grey ghost continues

Grey ghost - Banksy NoLa / street art photography

Photo 5: This is another Bansky graffiti relating to the hurricane

Banksy - rat - New Orleans / street art photography

Photo 6: Banksy’s “the simpsons” graffiti in NoLa – a political theme.

Simpsons - by Banksy in NoLa / street art photography

photo 7: This graffiti used to show the national guard stealing goods – all what is left is their shopping card.

national guard / Banksy in New Orleans

Photo 8: Yet another political graffiti showing Abraham Lincoln.

Abraham Lincoln - Graffiti by Banksy in New Orleans

To find out more about Bansky and his work visit his website.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. keroome permalink
    February 6, 2011 7:00 pm

    This is really good, as in thought awakening. Art has a voice and it’s humane.

  2. March 29, 2011 5:30 pm

    This is a very interesting article. I found it planning to find these pieces myself this weekend. How long ago was this? Is there a blog floating around with these exact locations?

    • March 29, 2011 5:53 pm

      Jon – this was about 1 year ago. Some of the art pieces are now protected with plexi-glass by the city of New Orleans – so they should def still be there. We found a map online – also, the orange couch cafe in the Marigny has some info on them – they have photos of the Banksy graffitis displayed as a little exhibit. Have fun – it’s like a little treasure hunt :)

  3. Dani permalink
    May 26, 2011 6:21 pm

    Hi Stefanie!
    I am contacting you from Afar Travel Magazine based in San Francisco, California. We’re doing a feature on street artists in an upcoming issue, and I happened to find your photos of Bansky’s work. I would love to discuss possibly using an image of yours in print, so please contact me at Dani@afar.com, and we can see if that would work. Thanks!
    -Dani

    • May 26, 2011 11:36 pm

      Hi Dani,

      This sounds like a very interesting article and I would be happy to contribute some picture material!
      Please just let me know what you had in mind.

      I am currently in Germany – so email is the best way of communication at the moment.
      I do have access to my full resolution pictures from here, too, so I could always provide you with the photos.

      Not sure which other artists you are going to write about, but I also took some photos of an artist in NYC who drew faces on the streets as well as “bad luck spots” and “good luck spots”. I never blogged about these pictures – but let me know if you are interested and i send you a photo so you know, what I am talking about.

      Looking forward to hearing back from you.

      Stefanie

  4. June 12, 2011 6:56 am

    When I was down in New Orleans for Jazz Fest last month, I got to see my first Banksy found in Photo 7, the shopping cart only remaining. It was surreal seeing all the street art there was spiritual for my first time ever being in New Orleans, what a beautiful city.

  5. Tom fox permalink
    September 11, 2011 3:15 am

    Hi. I’m visiting new Orleans next week and have limited time there.. Could you possibly give me an idea to the location of the banksy stuff? I’d love to be able to go see it for myself.. Any help would be much appreciated :)

  6. April 23, 2012 10:55 pm

    I have recently began really studying Banksy and would love to see some of his work in real life. I have been to New Orleans several times and now greatly regret not searching for these works of art. Are they still there?

    Great blog!

Trackbacks

  1. My Nola Banksy in California | CT wedding photographer | Photography and More Blog

Leave a Reply

